Admission of Foreign Students

Every year, the School of Veterinary Medicine accepts up to three foreigners who wish to study Veterinary Medicine in Thessaloniki. The candidates should apply (1-10 August) to the Ministry of Education in Athens for further information.
The Aristotle University of Thessaloniki awards a number of scholarships to foreign students who study in one of its faculties. Details are given by the Public and International Relations Office of the University.

The academic programme

The five-year-long studies (10 semesters) in the School of Veterinary Medicine lead to a DVM (Doctor in Veterinary Medicine) degree.

The actual curriculum comprises obligatory or «core» and elective courses.

ECTS, the European Community Course Credit Transfer System, was developed by the Commission of the European Communities in order to provide common procedures to guarantee academic recognition of studies abroad. It provides a way of measuring and comparing learning achievements, and transferring them from one institution to another.

The ECTS system is based on the principle of mutual trust and confidence between the participating higher education institutions. The few rules of ECTS, concerning Information (on courses available), Agreement (between the home and host institutions) and the Use of Credit Points (to indicate student workload) are set out to reinforce this mutual trust and confidence. Each ECTS department will describe the courses it offers not only in terms of content but also adding credits to each course.

ECTS credits are a value allocated to courses units to describe the student workload required to complete them. They reflect the quantity of work each course requires in relation to the total quantity of work required to complete a full year of academic study at the institution, that is, lectures, practical work, seminars, private work (in the library or at home) and examinations or other assessment activities. ECTS credits express a relative value.

In ECTS, 60 credits represent the workload of a year of study, normally 30 credits are given for a semester and 20 credits for a term. It is important that no special courses are set up for ECTS purposes, but that all ECTS courses are mainstream courses of the participating institutions, as followed by home students under normal regulations.

It is up to the participating institutions to subdivide the credit for the different courses. Practical placements and optional courses which form an integral part of the course of study also receive academic credit. Practical placements and optional courses which do not form an integral part of the course of study do not receive academic credit. Non-credit courses may, however, be mentioned in the transcript of records.

Credits are awarded only when the course has been completed and all required examinations have been successfully taken.

Foreign languages are taught in the first six semesters. The mean of the marks obtained in the foreign language during the six semesters constitutes the final mark, which is incorporated into the marks of the diploma.

Prior to the beginning of a semester, students have to state the obligatory and elective courses, which they wish to attend in the course of the said semester. This statement is made at the laboratories or clinics offering the corresponding course.


You can find detailed information about the Curriculum of the School and each course of the educational programme here:

Download the current curriculum.